Saturday, 28 January 2023

Blog Tour: Southern-Fried Woolf by Drēma Drudge

 

I am thrilled to be hosting a spot on the SOUTHERN FRIED WOOLF by Drēma Drudge Blog Tour hosted by Rockstar Book Tours. Check out my post and make sure to enter the giveaway!

 

About The Book:

Title: SOUTHERN FRIED WOOLF

Author: Drēma Drudge

Pub. Date: January 23, 2023

Publisher: Wit & Whimsy

Formats: Paperback, eBook

Pages: 288

Find it: Goodreadshttps://books2read.com/SOUTHERN-FRIED-WOOLF

Briscoe Chambers is not only the manager of her country music star husband, but a graduate student trying to complete her Virginia Woolf thesis by fall - the same time her cheating husband, Michael, has an album due to avoid being in breach of contract. No problem, right?

Except his co-writer will be Velvet Wickens, his idol who has been opening shows for him. And who happens to be the one he's cheating with. Now Briscoe has been asked by their record label to ensure the album gets finished on time. To accomplish this, they must all live together for the duration of the writing of the album.

And by the way, Briscoe knows.

Fans of the writing of both Taylor Jenkins Reid and Virginia Woolf will enjoy this novel that has plenty of sweet tea, country music, Virginia Woolf, and heartache.

Reviews:

"Southern-Fried Woolf is an uproariously funny, deeply insightful, and engagingly complex novel on many levels." - Rick Neumayer, author of Journeyman and Hotwalker

"A celebration of how books and music can help one transcend life's daily trials, Southern-Fried Woolf is a quick-witted and erudite novel, drenched in a love of literature and music." Self-Publishing Review

"Drema Drudge has taken a typical novel outline and made it into an even more exciting and unique story. From Briscoe's thesis being woven into each chapter to being a part of every thought and emotion she has, the story captivates the audience from start to finish."- Literary Titans

"Drudge pitches us into Nashville's vivid world, full of fascinating characters and expertly depicted settings. You can almost taste the sweet barbecue beans and hunks of honeyed cornbread."- Maggie Humm, author of prize-winning novels Talland House and Radical Woman: Gwen John & Rodin

"A cleverly plotted, character-led novel combining country music and Virginia Woolf. Now there´s a mix!"- A 'Wishing Shelf' Book Review

 

Excerpt

 

About Drēma Drudge:

Drēma Drudge is the award-winning author of the novels Victorine (March 2020) and Southern-Fried Woolf (January 2023). A graduate of the Naslund-Mann Graduate School of Writing, she and her husband, musician and writer Barry Drudge, have two grown children, a new granddog, and live in a picturesque town in Indiana. They also host the podcast MFA Payday. Learn more about Drēma and get a free literary fiction short story at: www.dremadrudge.com.

Check out Drēma’s blog and get recipes from SOUTHERN FRIED WOOLF! https://dremadrudge.com/blog/

Website | TwitterInstagram | TikTok | Goodreads | Amazon

 


Giveaway Details:

1 winner will win a $25 Gift Card from Bookshop.org, US Only.

2 winners will receive an eBook of SOUTHERN FRIED WOOLF, International.

Ends February 21st, midnight EST.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tour Schedule:

Week One:

1/23/2023

Mythical Books

Excerpt/IG Post

1/24/2023

Two Chicks on Books

Excerpt/IG Post

1/25/2023

#BRVL Book Review Virginia Lee Blog

Excerpt/IG Post

1/26/2023

A Dream Within A Dream

Excerpt/IG Post

1/27/2023

Sadie's Spotlight

Excerpt/IG Post

1/28/2023

Books and Kats

Excerpt

Week Two:

1/29/2023

Writer of Wrongs

Excerpt

1/30/2023

Rajiv's Reviews

Review/IG Post

1/31/2023

A Blue Box Full of Books

IG Review

2/1/2023

@more.books.yes.please

IG Review/TikTok Post

2/2/2023

the book near me

Review/IG Post

2/3/2023

Books With a Chance

Review/IG Post

2/4/2023

The Momma Spot

Review

Week Three:

2/5/2023

Review Thick And Thin

Review/IG Post

2/6/2023

@carlysunshinebooks

IG Review

2/7/2023

@allyluvsbooksalatte

IG Review

2/8/2023

Emily Ashlyn

IG Review/Facebook Post

2/9/2023

Fire and Ice

Review

2/10/2023

OneMoreExclamation

Review/IG Post

2/11/2023

Brandi Danielle Davis

IG Review/TikTok Post

Week Four:

2/12/2023

Ogitchida Kwe’s Book Blog

Review/IG Post

2/13/2023

pick a good book

Review

2/14/2023

@jypsylynn

IG Review

2/15/2023

hodophile_z

IG Review

2/16/2023

@froggyreadteach

IG Review

2/17/2023

@enjoyingbooksagain

IG Review


Tuesday, 10 January 2023

Guest Post: Observer by Robert Lanza and Nancy Kress

 

I am thrilled to be hosting a spot on the OBSERVER by Robert Lanza & Nancy Kress Blog Tour hosted by Rockstar Book Tours. Check out my post and make sure to enter the giveaway!

 

About The Book:

Title: OBSERVER

Author: Robert Lanza & Nancy Kress

Pub. Date: January 10, 2023

Publisher: The Story Plant

Formats: Hardcover, eBook, Audiobook

Pages: 368

Find it: Goodreadshttps://books2read.com/OBSERVER 

A mind-expanding journey to the very edge of science.

Caro Soames-Watkins, a talented neurosurgeon whose career has been upended by controversy, is jobless, broke, and the sole supporter of her sister, a single mother with a severely disabled child.

When she receives a strange job offer from Nobel Prize-winning scientist Sam Watkins, a great uncle she barely knows, desperation forces her to take it in spite of serious suspicions.

Watkins has built a mysterious medical facility in the Caribbean to conduct research into the nature of consciousness, reality, and life after death. Helped in his mission by his old friend, eminent physicist George Weigert, and young tech entrepreneur Julian Dey, Sam has gone far beyond curing the body to develop a technology that could solve the riddle of mortality.

Two obstacles stand in their way: someone on the inside is leaking intel and Watkins' failing body must last long enough for the technology to be ready.
 
As danger mounts, Caro finds more than she bargained for, including murder, love, and a deeper understanding into the nature of reality. 

A mind-expanding journey to the very edges of science, Observer will thrill you, inspire you, and lead you to think about life and the power of the imagination in startling new ways.

 

MY FAVORITE MOVIES, SORT OF

by Nancy Kress

It’s impossible to name my favorite movies of all time, because once you hit 70, you have a lot of past time in which you saw a lot of past movies.  So I’ll confine myself to favorite movies of the past few years.  And before any of you start fuming (“Why didn’t she mention X?  X was wonderful!  X was—pick one—ground-breaking, subtle and nuanced, the epitome of Y!  How could she ignore X?”), let me add that I have not seen every movie available in the last two years.  Or the last year.  Or the last month.  But of what I did see, these were “Sticky.”  Stickiness is a good measure of movies.  It means that the plot or characters or cinematography or acting or something stuck in your head (although it doesn’t count if they’ve stuck because you saw it two nights ago.)  So, an idiosyncratic list of recent sticky movies:


Everything Everywhere All At Once (2023).  I have never seen anything like this before.  I’m not sure there has been anything like it before.  In the beginning, we are in mundane reality (and nothing is more mundane and real than a tax audit).  Then we are somewhere else, just as bewildered as the character who finds herself there.  Things get more complicated, wackier, more inexplicable—until the explanation is grasped and the tension sets in—can these possibly succeed?  And then, following the tension, the emotion, as we see through their pasts just how and why each flawed character behaves as they do.  Ultimately, the movie centers on relationship: mother/daughter, husband/wife, as well as the relationships we could have had but chose not to.  The actors are all wonderful, the invention endless, and who knew that you could do super-effective kung fu with a fanny pack? 


Tár (2023).  This long, understated movie is the antithesis of Everything Everywhere.  Firmly rooted in the current world of classical music, it builds very slowly as we see facets of superstar conductor Lydia Tár’s character.  The film is a classic rise-and-fall-power-corrupts tale.  It is also a counter to those who believe that predatory and unfeeling behavior belongs solely to “toxic masculinity.”  But what really makes the movie is Cate Blanchett’s performance, which will earn her an Oscar if there is any cosmic justice (alas, there isn’t).


Don’t Look Up (2021).  Satire about either covid or climate change without ever mentioning either one.  Instead, a comet is going to strike Earth and wipe out all human civilization.  Some people think the danger is overstated, some think it’s a hoax, some freak out, some dig bunkers, some immediately calculate how this can be used for political gain (“The comet will save jobs!”), some (mostly scientists) beat their heads against walls trying to get someone to listen to the facts.  In short, a satiric look at the varieties of human folly, succeeding by its very outrageousness.


Eighth Grade (2018).  This one is older, but the stickiest of the bunch.  Heart-breaking, perfect-pitch film about early adolescence, the social haves and have-nots, and teens’ love affair with social media.  Four years later, it is still firmly in my head.


You may have noticed that although I am a science fiction writer, the two science fiction films that stuck to me are not serious looks at science, tech, or the future.  Although there are a few SF movies I like quite a lot (Arrival, Her), most of them assume that technology is synonymous with magic so if you just throw around a few “scientific terms,” you can make your plot do anything.  Case in point: Interstellar, in which the only things that can escape a black hole are Hawking radiation and Matthew McConaughey.  ‘Nuff said.



 

About Robert Lanza:

Robert Lanza is an American scientist and author whose research spans the range of natural science, from biology to theoretical physics. TIME magazine recognized him as one of the “100 Most Influential People in the World,” and Prospect magazine named him one of the "Top 50 World Thinkers.”

He has hundreds of scientific publications and over 30 books, including definitive references in the fields of stem cells, tissue engineering, and regenerative medicine. He is a former Fulbright Scholar, and studied with polio-pioneer Jonas Salk and Nobel laureates Gerald Edelman (known for his work on the biological basis of consciousness) and Rodney Porter. He also worked closely (and co-authored papers in Science on self-awareness and symbolic communication) with noted Harvard psychologist BF Skinner. Dr. Lanza received his undergraduate and medical degrees from the University of Pennsylvania, where he was both a University Scholar and Benjamin Franklin Scholar.

Lanza was part of the team that cloned the world’s first human embryo, the first endangered species, and published the first-ever reports of pluripotent stem cell use in humans.

Lanza and his colleagues were also the first to demonstrate that nuclear transplantation could be used to reverse the aging process and to generate immune-compatible tissues, including the first organ tissue-engineered from cloned cells. One of his early achievements was his demonstration that techniques used in preimplantation genetic diagnosis could be used to generate human embryonic stem cells without embryonic destruction.

He and colleagues have also succeeded in differentiating human pluripotent stem cells into retinal cells, and has shown that they provide long-term benefit in animal models of vision loss. Using this technology some forms of blindness may be curable, including macular degeneration and Stargardt disease, a currently untreatable form eye disease that causes blindness in teenagers and young adults. Lanza's company received FDA approval to carry out clinical trials in the US using them to treat degenerative eye diseases, as well approval for the first human pluripotent stem cell trial in Europe. The first patients reported improved vision in the eyes treated with the cells, which The Guardian said "represents a huge scientific achievement."

Dr. Lanza and his colleagues published the first-ever report of human pluripotent stem cells transplanted into human patients. The patients who received the stem cell transplants say their lives have been transformed by the experimental procedure--they report that they can use their computers, thread a needle, or even go to the mall or airport on their own.

Lanza has also been a major player in the scientific revolution that has led to the documentation that nuclear transfer/transcription factors can restore developmental potential in a differentiated cell. One of his successes was showing that it is feasible to generate functional oxygen-carrying red blood cells from human pluripotent stem cells. The blood cells were comparable to normal transfusable blood and could serve as a potentially inexhaustible source of "universal" blood. His team also discovered how to generate functional hemangioblasts - a population of "ambulance" cells - from hES cells. In animals, these cells quickly repaired vascular damage, cutting the death rate after a heart attack in half and restoring the blood flow to ischemic limbs that might otherwise have to be amputated.

Lanza and a team lead by Kwang-Soo Kim at Harvard University have also reported a safe method for generating induced pluripotent stem (iPS) cells. Human iPS cells were created from skin cells by direct delivery of proteins, thus eliminating the harmful risks associated with genetic manipulation. The Editors of the prestigious journal Nature selected Lanza and Kim's paper on protein reprogramming as one of five "Research Highlights." Discover magazine stated, "Lanza's single-minded quest to usher in this new age has paid dividends in scientific insights and groundbreaking discoveries." Fortune magazine called him "the standard-bearer for stem cell research.”

Dr. Lanza has received numerous awards, including being named one of TIME Magazine's "100 Most Influential People in the World"; the 2013 Il Leone di San Marco award in Medicine (The Italian Heritage and Culture Committee, along with Regis Philbin [in Entertainment]); including an NIH Director's Award (2010) for "Translating Basic Science Discoveries into New and Better Treatments"; the 2010 'Movers and Shakers' Who Will Shape Biotech Over the Next 20 Years (BioWorld)(along with Craig Venter and President Barack Obama); the 2007 100 Most Inspiring People in the Life-Sciences Industry (PharmaVOICE, "For his discoveries 'behind the medicines making a significant impact on the pipelines of today and of the future'"; the 2007 Outstanding Contribution in Contemporary Biology Award (Brown University, "For his groundbreaking research and contributions in stem cell science and biology"; the 2006 All-Star Award for Biotechnology (MA High Tech, for "pushing stem cells' future"); the 2005 Rave Award for Medicine (Wired magazine, "For eye-opening work on embryonic stem cells"); and Lanza is listed in Who's Who in America, Who's Who in the World, Who's Who in Medicine and Healthcare, Who's Who in Science and Engineering; Who's Who in American Education, and Who's Who in Technology, among others.

Dr. Lanza and his research have been featured in almost every media outlet in the world, including CNN, TIME, Newsweek, People, as well as the front pages of the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, among others (his work has also been the cover story of US News & World Report, Wired magazine, and Scientific American).

In 2007, Lanza published a feature article, "A New Theory of the Universe" in The American Scholar, a leading intellectual journal which has previously published works by Albert Einstein, Margaret Mead, and Carl Sagan, among others. His theory places biology above the other sciences in an attempt to solve one of nature's biggest puzzles, the theory of everything that other disciplines have been pursuing for the last century. This new view has become known as Biocentrism. In biocentrism, space and time are forms of animal sense perception, rather than external physical objects. Understanding this more fully yields answers to several major puzzles of mainstream science, and offers a new way of understanding everything from the microworld (for instance, the reason for Heisenberg's uncertainty principle and the double-slit experiment) to the forces, constants, and laws that shape the universe. Nobel laureate E. Donnall Thomas stated "Any short statement does not do justice to such a scholarly work. The work is a scholarly consideration of science and philosophy that brings biology into the central role in unifying the whole."

You can read more about Dr. Robert Lanza's work at:

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads | Amazon | BookBub

 

About Nancy Kress:

Nancy Kress is the author of thirty-four books, including twenty-six novels, four collections of short stories, and three books on writing. Her work has won six Nebulas, two Hugos, a Sturgeon, and the John W. Campbell Memorial Award. She writes frequently about genetic engineering; including the acclaimed science-fiction novel Beggars in Spain. Kress’s fiction has been translated into Swedish, Danish, French, Italian, German, Spanish, Polish, Croatian, Chinese, Lithuanian, Romanian, Japanese, Korean, Hebrew, Russian, and Klingon, none of which she can read. In addition to writing, Kress often teaches at various venues around the country and abroad, including a visiting lectureship at the University of Leipzig, a 2017 writing class in Beijing, and the annual intensive workshop TaosToolbox. Kress lives in Seattle with her husband, writer Jack Skillingstead, and Pippin, the world’s most spoiled Chihuahua.

Website | Goodreads | Amazon | BookBub

 

Giveaway Details:

1 winner will receive a $10 Amazon Gift Card, International.

Ends January 24th, midnight EST.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tour Schedule:

Week One:

1/9/2023

Mythical Books

Guest Post/IG Post

1/9/2023

A Dream Within A Dream

Guest Post

1/10/2023

Lady Hawkeye

Excerpt/IG Post

1/10/2023

Books and Kats

Guest Post

1/11/2023

Fire and Ice

Review

1/11/2023

#BRVL Book Review Virginia Lee Blog

Excerpt

1/12/2023

Wanderingwitchreads

TikTok Review/IG Post

1/12/2023

Nerdophiles

Review

1/13/2023

@carlysunshinebooks

IG Review/LFL Drop Pic

1/13/2023

Rajiv's Reviews

Review/IG Post

Week Two:

1/16/2023

Emily Ashlyn

Facebook Review/IG Review

1/16/2023

Two Chicks on Books

Guest Post/IG Post

1/17/2023

@froggyreadteach

IG Review

1/17/2023

@allyluvsbooksalatte

IG Review/TikTok Post

1/18/2023

Sadie's Spotlight

Excerpt/IG Post

1/18/2023

the book near me

Review/IG Post

1/19/2023

The Momma Spot

Review/IG Post

1/19/2023

Jazzy Book Reviews

Excerpt/IG Post

1/20/2023

Nagma | TakeALookAtMyBookshelf

IG Review

1/20/2023

Books a Plenty Book Reviews

Review


Thursday, 8 December 2022

Guest Post: A Crown Forged By Victory's Consequence by Marlayna James and Aaryanna Abbott

 

I am thrilled to be hosting a spot on the A CROWN FORGED BY VICTORY'S CONSEQUENCE by Marlayna James & Aaryanna Abbott Blog Tour hosted by Rockstar Book Tours. Check out my post and make sure to enter the giveaway!

 

About The Book:

Title: A CROWN FORGED BY VICTORY'S CONSEQUENCE (The Blackened Tablet Series, #1)

Author: Marlayna James & Aaryanna Abbott

Pub. Date: January 3, 2023

Publisher: Friends with Pens Author Group

Formats: Paperback, eBook

Pages: 438

Find it: GoodreadsAmazon, Kindle, B&NiBooks, KoboTBD, Bookshop.org

The Blackened Tablet Series is an epic fantasy quest story with corrupt politics, wondrous magic, and illicit encounters in a supernatural world where no one is safe.

Three hundred years ago, the sacred tablet granted by their god, Jezabet, turned black, and eight kingdoms broke free, plummeting into the bottomless sea. There was no warning, and no one knows why.

Now, a strange illness plagues Aldersward. Crowned Prince Aedyn's sisters, Achelle and Annora, his father, and countrymen are desperate and grief-stricken. All hope is lost...

Until someone dreams, and Aedyn leaves behind his mistress and his betrothed to cure their nation. He enlists his friends; a brazen playboy, a gentle strongman, and an ancient mentor. Together, they set out on a perilous journey-few believe they will survive.

This isn't a fairy tale-s3x becomes currency, murder is ordinary, and love doesn't conquer all.

Everyone loves a hero-good triumphs evil. But few dare to question how victory ripples into consequences. Explore this exciting concept in the Blackened Tablet Series.

 Author Aaryanna Abbott interviews her character Guard Asa of Lessard for The Blackened Tablet Series: A Crown Forged By Victory’s Consequence. 


Aaryanna: What is your motivation? 

Asa: Live happily and simply after I finish my service to the kingdom. 


Aaryanna: Do you have a celebrity lookalike? 

Asa: Perhaps Patrick Neil Harris with darker skin and brown hair. 


Aaryanna: What is your best feature?

Asa: My goofy grin—women love it.


Aaryanna: What is your dream job or goal? 

Asa: Be a fisherman or farmer. 


Aaryanna: What annoys you about yourself? 

Asa: My cheeks blotch with red when I’m embarrassed, and I can be downright silly sometimes. 


Aaryanna: How did you come to realise your ability?

Asa: It was nearly disastrous. After an evening meal, it was typical for my family to find a group activity. Outside, by the fire, my father played his lute, while nearby, my sisters sang as they danced together. I claimed my mother for my partner, and after sending her through a series of turns, I threw her in the air. She went much higher than she should have. In the end, at least I caught her. Then both of my sisters begged for a turn. 


 

About Marlayna James:


Marlayna lives in Canada where she writes romance, erotica, women's fiction, and fantasy. She loves video games, TV, reading, and writing.






About Aaryanna Abbott:

This is another of my pen names. For every pen name, I use a different part of who I am. I imagine this is how she looks.

What’s this part of me like?

I was a daddy’s girl. The very epitome of spoilt.

I love to be wild and crazy—experience everything the world has to offer. I’m adventurous and my carefree disposition is contagious.

I’m loyal to a fault and don’t care what expectations or labels society has bestowed upon me. I believe one’s truth is more valuable than anyone’s perception.

This part of me writes for escapism—to be free of my mundane day to day and live in a magical world almost as real to me as earth. Except in my imaginary world, I control all things and it pleases me to no end.

Do you know how happy you would be living there?

 

Find all of Marlayna James & Aaryanna Abbott’s Links HERE- https://friendswithpensauthorgroup.com/letshookup/

 

Giveaway Details:

5 winners will receive an eBook of A CROWN FORGED BY VICTORY'S CONSEQUENCE, International.

Ends January 10th, midnight EST.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tour Schedule:

Week One:

12/1/2022

Mythical Books

Guest Post/IG Post

12/2/2022

The Momma Spot

Guest Post

12/3/2022

Sadie's Spotlight

Guest Post/IG Post

Week Two:

12/4/2022

#BRVL Book Review Virginia Lee Blog

Guest Post/IG Post

12/5/2022

A Dream Within A Dream

Guest Post

12/6/2022

Jazzy Book Reviews

Guest Post/IG Post

12/7/2022

Lady Hawkeye

Guest Post/IG Post

12/8/2022

Books and Kats

Guest Post

12/9/2022

Living in a Bookworld

Guest Post

12/10/2022

Two Chicks on Books

Guest Post

Week Three:

12/11/2022

@jaimerockstarbooktours

IG Post

12/12/2022

Nagma | TakeALookAtMyBookshelf

IG Review

12/13/2022

Books With A Chance of Traveling

Review/IG Post

12/14/2022

Nerdophiles

Review

12/15/2022

The Book Countess

Review

12/16/2022

Books a Plenty Book Reviews

Review

12/17/2022

Fire and Ice

Review

Week Four:

12/18/2022

Rajiv's Reviews

Review/IG Post

12/19/2022

More Books Please blog

Review/IG Post

12/20/2022

Forthenovellovers

Review

12/21/2022

@allyluvsbooksalatte

IG Review/TikTok Post

12/22/2022

OneMoreExclamation

Review/IG Post

12/23/2022

The Girl Who Reads

Review/IG Post

12/24/2022

NO POST

NA

Week Five:

12/25/2022

NO POST

NA

12/26/2022

Ashe_and_ink

IG Review

12/27/2022

the book near me

Review/IG Post

12/28/2022

@froggyreadteach

IG Review

12/29/2022

Emily Ashlyn

IG & Facebook Review

12/30/2022

@booksrn_rashi

IG Review

12/31/2022

Lifestyle of Me

Review